Odd Thomas Books In Order By Dean Koontz

The Intriguing World of Odd Thomas: A Journey Through Dean Koontz’s Supernatural Thriller Series

Odd Thomas Books In Order


Dive into the captivating universe of Odd Thomas, a series of supernatural thriller novels penned by the prolific author, Dean Koontz. Follow the adventures of Odd, a young man with a unique ability to communicate with the dead. As he navigates through life, he finds himself entangled in a web of suspense, mystery, and horror.

With a blend of wit, intrigue, and unforgettable characters, the Odd Thomas series promises to keep readers on the edge of their seats. Explore the depths of this extraordinary world as we unravel the intricacies of this spine-chilling series.

Who is Odd Thomas?

Who is Odd Thomas?
Who is Odd Thomas?

Odd Thomas is the protagonist of Dean Koontz’s supernatural thriller series of the same name. He is a young man residing in the small desert town of Pico Mundo, California. Odd possesses a unique and mysterious ability, he can see and communicate with the spirits of the dead.

These spirits are often drawn to him, seeking his help resolving unfinished business or finding peace in the afterlife.

Odd is a humble and kind-hearted, who leads a simple life as a short-order cook. Despite his extraordinary gift, he tries to maintain a low profile, using his powers only to help those in need.

He is guided by a strong moral compass, often finding himself in dangerous and complex situations, where he battles malevolent forces and unravels mysteries to protect the living and assist the dead.

List all Odd Thomas books in order

List all Odd Thomas books in order
List all Odd Thomas books in order

Here is a list of all the Odd Thomas books in chronological order:

  • Odd Thomas (2003)
  • Forever Odd (2005)
  • Brother Odd (2006)
  • Odd Hours (2008)
  • Odd Apocalypse (2012)
  • Deeply Odd (2013)
  • Saint Odd (2015)

In addition to the main series, there are also several novellas and graphic novels that feature Odd Thomas:

  • Odd Interlude (novella, 2012) – Set between “Odd Hours” and “Odd Apocalypse”
  • Odd Is on Our Side (graphic novel, 2010) – A prequel to the main series
  • In Odd We Trust (graphic novel, 2008) – Another prequel to the main series
  • House of Odd (graphic novel, 2012) – A stand-alone adventure in the Odd Thomas universe

While it’s not necessary to read the novellas and graphic novels to understand the main series, they do provide additional insights and adventures for fans of Odd Thomas.

An in-depth look into each Odd Thomas book

Odd Thomas (2003):

Odd Thomas (2003)
Odd Thomas (2003)

In the first installment of the series, we meet Odd Thomas, a young man with the supernatural ability to see the lingering dead. When he encounters a mysterious stranger surrounded by malevolent spirits called “bodachs,” he realizes that a terrible tragedy will befall his town.

With the help of his soulmate, Stormy Llewellyn, and the local police chief, Wyatt Porter, Odd must race against time to prevent a horrifying catastrophe.

Forever Odd (2005):

In this sequel, Odd’s best friend, Danny Jessup, is kidnapped by a sinister figure named Datura. As Odd follows the trail, he discovers that Datura seeks to exploit his psychic abilities for her own dark purposes.

Odd must navigate a dangerous maze of supernatural forces and malevolent intentions to rescue his friend and put an end to Datura’s evil plans.

Brother Odd (2006):

Brother Odd (2006)
Brother Odd (2006)

Seeking solitude and reflection, Odd takes refuge in a secluded monastery in the Sierra Nevada mountains. When a menacing apparition begins to haunt the monks, and one of their own goes missing, Odd is called upon to use his unique abilities to unravel the mystery.

In the process, he uncovers a deadly conspiracy that threatens the lives of the monks and the innocent children they protect.

Odd Hours (2008):

Odd is drawn to the coastal town of Magic Beach, where he encounters a pregnant woman named Annamaria who seems to possess otherworldly knowledge. Together, they uncover a terrorist plot involving a deadly weapon of mass destruction.

Odd must rely on his psychic abilities and resourcefulness to thwart the attack and save countless lives.

Odd Apocalypse (2012):

Odd Apocalypse (2012)
Odd Apocalypse (2012)

Odd finds himself at Roseland, a secluded and mysterious estate, where he is drawn into a nightmarish world of supernatural forces and time-traveling secrets.

With the help of the enigmatic Annamaria, he must unravel the secrets of Roseland and confront a malevolent adversary who has the power to alter the course of history.

Deeply Odd (2013):

In this installment, Odd’s psychic magnetism leads him to a sinister truck driver named Junior Cain. He discovers that Cain is involved in a horrifying scheme to kidnap and murder innocent children.

With the help of a group of spectral truckers and the ever-present Annamaria, Odd embarks on a dangerous quest to stop Cain and save the lives of the intended victims.

Saint Odd (2015):

Saint Odd (2015)
Saint Odd (2015)

In the final novel of the series, Odd returns to his hometown of Pico Mundo, where he must confront a cult that plans to unleash a deadly apocalypse.

As he battles overwhelming odds and confronts his own destiny, Odd must find a way to protect the town he loves and finally find peace for himself and the spirits he has helped throughout his journey.

These summaries provide a brief overview of each book in the Odd Thomas series, highlighting the main plotlines and the supernatural mysteries that Odd must confront. While it is not strictly necessary to read the Odd Thomas series in chronological order, it is highly recommended to do so.

Expert Tip: Reading the books in order allows you to follow the development of the protagonist, Odd Thomas, and better understand the relationships and events that shape his journey.

Each book builds on the foundation laid by the previous one, and there are overarching plotlines and character developments that progress throughout the series. Reading the books in order will provide you with a richer, more immersive experience and a deeper understanding of Odd’s world and the challenges he faces.

That said, if you happen to pick up a book from the middle of the series, you will still be able to enjoy it as a standalone story. Dean Koontz does a good job of providing enough context and background information for new readers to follow the plot without feeling completely lost.

However, to get the most out of the series, it is best to start with the first book, “Odd Thomas,” and continue from there.


In conclusion, Dean Koontz’s Odd Thomas series offers readers a thrilling journey through a world of supernatural mysteries, unforgettable characters, and heart-pounding suspense. The protagonist, Odd Thomas, is a compassionate and humble hero whose unique ability to communicate with the dead leads him on a series of harrowing adventures.

Through his struggles, Odd not only confronts malevolent forces but also grapples with his own humanity and purpose.

The series brilliantly combines elements of thriller, horror, and humor, keeping readers engaged and eager for more. Whether you’re a fan of supernatural fiction or simply looking for an enthralling series to delve into, the Odd Thomas books are sure to captivate and entertain.

As you follow Odd’s journey from the small town of Pico Mundo to the farthest reaches of the supernatural world, prepare to be enthralled by the rich storytelling and mesmerizing intrigue that has made the Odd Thomas series a beloved classic.

Avatar photo
About Ben Hudd

Hi, my name is Ben, and I am part of the writing crew for TheWritersHQ!

I have a roaring passion for books and writing, and have written 2 books throughout my life! I am now excited to share my writing and book knowledge with the world!