Richard Osman Books in Order – A Complete Guide

Richard Osman, a well-known British television presenter, has made a splash in the literary world with his popular crime novels. His books, featuring the quirky and lovable cast of The Thursday Murder Club, have captivated readers worldwide. If you’re new to Osman’s work or looking to follow the series in order, this blog post is for you.

In just 100 words, we’ll introduce you to the brilliant world of Richard Osman’s novels, providing a comprehensive guide to the books in order and offering insights into the intriguing plots and unforgettable characters that make his stories a must-read for fans of mystery and crime fiction.

Richard Osman Books In Order

List of Richard Osman Books in Order:

  1. The Thursday Murder Club (2020)
  2. The Man Who Died Twice (2021)
  3. The Bullet That Missed (2022)
  4. The Last Devil To Die (2023)

About Richard Osman

About Richard Osman
About Richard Osman

Richard Osman is a British television presenter, producer, comedian, and now a successful author. He gained popularity as the co-host of the British game show “Pointless.” With his natural wit and humor, Osman ventured into writing and released his debut novel, “The Thursday Murder Club,” in 2020, which quickly became a bestseller.

How many Richard Osman books are there?

As of September 2021, there are two books in the Richard Osman series. However, more books may have been released since then.

Who is the author of the Richard Osman series?

The author of the Richard Osman series is Richard Osman himself. He made his literary debut with “The Thursday Murder Club,” which introduced readers to a group of unlikely amateur detectives solving murder mysteries. The series has been well-received by critics and readers alike, praising Osman’s humor, clever plots, and endearing characters.

What is the premise of The Thursday Murder Club series?

What is the premise of The Thursday Murder Club series?
What is the premise of The Thursday Murder Club series?

The Thursday Murder Club series revolves around a group of four elderly residents living in a peaceful retirement village called Coopers Chase. These charming individuals have formed an unusual club that meets weekly to investigate unsolved murder cases.

The group combines their unique skills, wisdom, and experience to solve the mysteries. The series is known for its wit, humor, and heartwarming portrayal of friendship.

Are there any plans to adapt the books into movies or television series?

Yes, there are plans to bring The Thursday Murder Club series to the screen. In September 2020, it was announced that Steven Spielberg’s Amblin Partners had acquired the rights to adapt the first novel in the series into a feature film.

Expert Tip: Although specific details about the project’s progress are scarce, fans can look forward to seeing their favorite characters come to life on the big screen.

Can the books be read as stand-alone novels, or is it necessary to read them in order?

It is advisable to read the novels in order.
It is advisable to read the novels in order.

While each book in the series focuses on a different mystery, it is advisable to read the novels in order. Doing so will allow readers to fully appreciate the development of the characters and their relationships, as well as the progression of the overall narrative.

That being said, Osman does an excellent job of ensuring that each book can be enjoyed independently if a reader chooses to pick one up out of sequence.

What sets Richard Osman’s books apart from other crime novels?

Richard Osman’s books stand out from other crime novels due to their unique blend of humor, warmth, and engaging mystery. The series features a diverse group of elderly protagonists, a demographic that is often underrepresented in literature. Additionally, Osman’s writing style is accessible and entertaining, which makes his books appealing to a wide range of readers.


Richard Osman’s Thursday Murder Club series has captured the hearts of readers worldwide with its unique blend of humor, engaging mysteries, and lovable characters. Whether you’re new to the series or a longtime fan, following the adventures of the Thursday Murder Club is a delightful journey.

Be sure to read the books in order and stay tuned for news about the upcoming screen adaptation. With Richard Osman’s talent for storytelling, it’s no wonder that his novels have become a must-read for fans of crime fiction.

Avatar photo
About Ben Hudd

Hi, my name is Ben, and I am part of the writing crew for TheWritersHQ!

I have a roaring passion for books and writing, and have written 2 books throughout my life! I am now excited to share my writing and book knowledge with the world!